Unisa Higher Certificate Courses And Requirements

The University of South Africa (Unisa) is a distance learning institution that offers a variety of qualifications that prospective students can choose from. Should you not meet the minimum admission requirements, then you have the opportunity of applying for a Higher Certificate qualification.

The University of South Africa (Unisa) has been in existence for decades and it continues to be a distance learning institution that has a flexible schedule that individuals can structure according to how their lives are normally structured, to accommodate their academics.

The university has a number of qualifications that both prospective and existing students may enrol for, aligning the chosen qualification with the industry that they aspire to take up space in.

Should prospective students not meet the admission minimum requirements for a Diploma or bachelors Degree, they may want to look at what the university has an offer for its Higher Certificate qualifications. 

Here’s a list of Higher Certificate qualifications that the university offer:

  1. Higher Certificate in Accounting Sciences 
  2. Higher Certificate in Animal Welfare 
  3. Higher Certificate in Archives and Records Management 
  4. Higher Certificate in Banking 
  5. Higher Certificate in Criminal Justice 
  6. Higher Certificate in Economic and Management Sciences 
  7. Higher Certificate in Education
  8. Higher Certificate in Education Foundation Phase and Intermediate Phase 
  9. Higher Certificate in Education Senior Phase and Further Education and Training Teaching (SPF)
  10. Higher Certificate in Insurance
  11. Higher Certificate in Law 
  12. Higher Certificate in Life and Environmental Sciences 
  13. Higher Certificate in Marketing 
  14. Higher Certificate in Mathematics and Statistics 
  15. Higher Certificate in Physical Sciences 
  16. Higher Certificate in Retailing 
  17. Higher Certificate in Social Auxiliary Work Not Applicable 
  18. Higher Certificate in Supervisory Management 
  19. Higher Certificate in Tourism Management 

To qualify for a Higher Certificate, prospective students need to have matriculated, attaining at least the following minimum admission requirements, in the teaching and learning language:

  • National Senior Certificate: 30%
  • Senior Certificate: F symbol on Higher Grade or an E symbol on Standard Grade
  • National Certificate (Vocational) : 40% 

Students ought to also look at additional requirements for their chosen qualification, and which requirements will they need to meet when they apply for a Unisa Diploma course or Bachelor Degree after they have completed their Higher Certificate.